Making Money

March 2, 2009 at 9:54 am 4 comments

UB City

I ended my previous post with the word Hobby. Co-incidentally some events happened which made me re-think about the meaning of this word. Just for the record – “An activity done regularly in one’s leisure time for pleasure” is what the dictionary will define it. Why am i writing this, read on…

It was lunch time. A normal buzz filled the air in our small office cafeteria. While having lunch with my colleagues we spoke about the UB City where we had been to as a team outing. UB City is a state of the art shopping mall with international brands like Louis Vuitton, Omega, and Apple iStore to name a few.  This conversation ended up with everyone curiously thinking about the amount of money the owner had spent on constructing it and money he still possess.

“My hobby right now is to make Money” was the statement one of my colleague made. He went on to say that he was not getting enough time to continue his hobby seriously. I was stunned… had a big exclamatory mark on my face. My  friends didn’t heed to those words I thought, but those words caught my attention.Damn! … What a cool hobby to have … 🙂

If anyone is confronted with a question what are your hobbies? You get the most common answers like reading books, Music, cricket… blah blah, but look at this Guy.! I probably would say he was the epitome of money grubbing person coz we as “Software Engineers” would almost draw a six figure salary or more annually but still having money making as a hobby!

All said and done but, when i thought deeply about this exotic hobby, I myself seem to be divided on this from within. One side of me feels,  If i start calculating and thinking of all the ways of making money so as to secure my  future … when would i living my life to the fullest. I have seen people sitting glued to TV Channels, hearing to that pause-less conversations about the Market, trying hard to understand complex calculations and dynamics of it, eying to make profits in every highs and lows. This was just an example I chose which always makes news. Be it any public places, newspapers or even vehicles all are flooded with advertisements telling you how to make money.  Honestly i never ever dreamt of all this during my college days.

But on the flip side, i think there is nothing wrong in dreaming big and working relentlessly towards it “LEGALLY” because every person coming from middle class family wants to make it big in his life. In tracking the Market you get a general awareness about money transactions and since our professional career is also a part of it, becomes all that more important. When i gaze at the traffic ahead of me on my way to office, i see hundreds of cars, SUV’s starting from luxurious to more luxurious ones. I would keep on imagining how it feels to lay hands on those highly sensitive power steering wheels which gives you the control of maneuvering a vehicle with your finger tips,  those upholstered seats, AC …  only to be brought back to reality with a loud honk from behind.   Damn! … When would I own one of them. I some times wonder if those people have made making money as their hobby.  I am not stopping at cars; there is an entire world out there which can be owned. This hobby has become every successful person’s prerogative and sure many wouldn’t want to take this hobby lightly.

So next time if any one asks you this question what’s your hobby? What would you say…? Hopefully the truth 🙂


— Go Green, Save a Tree —

Entry filed under: Life-Science.

My New Found Hobby.. !! process-thread-model

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sachin  |  March 2, 2009 at 10:35 am

    Quote: “I have seen people sitting glued to TV Channels, hearing to that pause-less conversations about the Market”…

    Hahaha… Wonder who you’re taking about!!! 😛

    Reply
    • 2. arjunsm  |  March 2, 2009 at 12:42 pm

      No prizes for guessing it correctly 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Kirangiri  |  March 3, 2009 at 4:50 am

    I wonder when you guys understand my thoughts… May god bless you guys ( If He/She exist )

    Reply
  • 4. Make Money – the New Mantra « Arjun’s blog  |  May 21, 2009 at 10:43 am

    […] By arjunsm 0 Comments Categories: Life-Science I had reflected in my earlier post https://arjunsm.wordpress.com/2009/03/02/making-money/ about making money, fast becoming a new hobby and interestingly it got the highest number of hits. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

